Geraniales (Geranium)


The angiosperm order Geraniales, as currently informally recognized, contains about 800 species, some of which are of economical and horticultural importance. Geraniales mainly comprises three families: Geraniaceae (geraniums, pelargoniums), Melianthaceae, a family of 18 species, Ledocarpaceae totalling 12 species in three genera, and Vivianiaceae, a small family containing a single genus with six species.

Keywords: geranium; pelargonium; geraniaceae; melianthaceae; vivianiaceae; ledocarpaceae

Further Reading

Bakker FT, Culham A and Gibby M (1999) Phylogenetics and diversification in Pelargonium. In: Hollingsworth P et al. (eds) Molecular Systematics and Plant Evolution, pp. 353–374. London: Chapman & Hall.

Miller D (1996) Pelargoniums. A Gardener's Guide to the Species and Their Cultivars and Hybrids. London: Batsford.

Soltis DE, Soltis PS, Chase MW et al. (2000) Angiosperm phylogeny inferred from 18S rDNA, rbcL, and atpB sequences. Botanical Journal of the Linnean Society 133: 381–461.

Van der Walt JJA (1979) Pelargoniums of Southern Africa, vol. 1. Cape Town: Pernell.

Van der Walt JJA and Vorster PJ (1981) Pelargoniums of Southern Africa, vol. 2. Cape Town: Juta.

Van der Walt JJA and Vorster PJ (1988) Pelargoniums of Southern Africa, vol. 3. National Botanic Gardens, Kirstenbosch.

Vorster PJ (ed.) (1990) Proceedings of the International Geraniaceae Symposium. University of Stellenbosch, Republic of South Africa.

Yeo PF (1985) Hardy Geraniums. London: Croom Helm.

Contact Editor close
Submit a note to the editor about this article by filling in the form below.

* Required Field

How to Cite close
Bakker, Freek T(Mar 2003) Geraniales (Geranium). In: eLS. John Wiley & Sons Ltd, Chichester. [doi: 10.1038/npg.els.0003716]