Dipsacales (Honeysuckle)


The plant order Dipsacales comprises about 2000 species belonging to the eight core families Adoxaceae, Caprifoliaceae, Collumelliaceae, Diervillaceae, Dipsacaceae, Linnaeceae, Morinaceae and Valerianaceae. It includes many ornamental plants such as honeysuckle and weigela.

Keywords: dipsacales; phylogeny; systematics; caprifoliaceae; valerianaceae

Figure 1.

Intrafamiliar relationships of the core Dipsacales, based on morphological and molecular information.


Further Reading

Backlund A (1996) Phylogeny of the Dipsacales. Acta Univ. Ups. Comprehensive Summaries of Uppsala Dissertations from the Faculty of Science and Technology 243. Uppsala.

Backlund A and Bremer B (1997) Phylogeny of the Asteridae s.str. based on rbcL sequences, with particular reference to the Dipsacales. Plant Systematics and Evolution 207: 225–254.

Bremer K, Backlund A, Sennblad B et al. (2001) A phylogenetic analysis of 100+ genera and 50+ families of euasterids based on morphological and molecular data with notes on possible higher level morphological synapomorphies. Plant Systematics and Evolution 229: 137–169.

Friis EM (1990) Silvianthemum suecicum gen. et. sp. nov., a new saxifragalean flower from the late Cretaceous of Sweden. Biologiske Skrifter 36: 1–35.

Contact Editor close
Submit a note to the editor about this article by filling in the form below.

* Required Field

How to Cite close
Backlund, Anders(Mar 2002) Dipsacales (Honeysuckle). In: eLS. John Wiley & Sons Ltd, Chichester. http://www.els.net [doi: 10.1038/npg.els.0003737]